art matters


It's Not Over Yet

Galerie MAI

Risque d’échec

Galerie Mainline

Body Works

Gham & Dafe

TOUT INCLUS

Galerie Espace

Wire Forest

Studio XX

Islands

Espace Cercle Carré

Ontology

Espace Projet

UNTITLED

VAV Gallery

Things Repeated

Eastern Bloc

xxxxxxxx*8

POPOP

Ce qu’il en reste

Eastern Bloc

The View From Here

Espace Cercle Carré

It's Not Over Yet


Mar 4, 22h — 1h
Galerie MAI
3680 Rue Jeanne-Mance

Video — Sculpture — Performance

  • Troy Biliski
  • Jack Zeppetelli
  • Émile Foucher
  • Laila Hamouda
  • Timothy Thomasson
  • Maude Lauziere Dumas
  • Lea Schwarz
  • Ryth Kesselring

Commissaires: Art Matters Board of Directors


L’événement d’inauguration, It’s Not Over Yet, est une soirée d’art et de performances en col-laboration avec Nuit Blanche qui explore les thèmes de l’éphémère, du « dead space », de la construction et de la détérioration. L’événement présentera plusieurs divertissements, transformant graduellement la galerie MAI en espace tiré tout droit de l’Expo ‘67. Débutant avec une galerie « morte » ou « vide », la trans formation de la galerie à travers les performances utilisant la technologie pourra être comparée aux nombreux endroits à Montréal qui furent spécifiquement construits pour l’Expo ‘67. Quel est l’impact d’une œuvre d’art créée puis laissée derrière?

Body Works


Vernissage — Mar 9, 19h — 21h
Mar 4 — Mar 18
Gham & Dafe
3425 Ste-Catherine E

Fibres — Installation — Photography

  • Clare Grehan
  • Rayna M Bellwoar
  • Lydia McCourt
  • Thomas Geist
  • Niharika Russell
  • Nathalie Dubois Calero
  • Dina Georgaros
  • Paul Lofeodo

Commissaire: Alyse Tunnell


Nos corps sont comme des filtres à travers lesquels nous expérimentons le monde; ils informent indéniablement notre identité. Body Works considère comment les artistes contemporains utilisent le corps comme matériel, support et inspiration en présentant des œuvres constituées du corps, ou représentant celui-ci. Les différents médiums des œuvres exposées nous poussent à considérer comment nous entrons en relation avec nos propres corps. Ainsi, l’exposition nous confronte à des aspects inconfortables de notre personne, aux niveaux physique et physiologique. Chaque œuvre renverse notre tendance à ignorer ou à mettre notre corps sous silence en représentant celui-ci de façon inhabituelle. Body Works présente le corps comme lieu de résistance, idéalisation et de vulnérabilité.

Wire Forest


Vernissage — Mar 10, 19h — 22h
Mar 4 — Mar 18
Studio XX
4001 rue Berri #201

Electroacoustics — Sculpture — Video — Performance

  • Jenna Ladd
  • Alejandro A. Barbosa
  • Amanda Lee
  • Antonin Fisette
  • Beatrice Scharf-Pierzchala
  • Dany Floyd
  • Georgios Varoutsos
  • Philip Gagnon
  • Rihab Essayh

Commissaires: Valerie Bourdon, Diana Lazzaro


Des ruines de nos anciennes civilisations s’élève une forêt de câbles prenant racine dans le métal, ses créatures provenant de la lumière et du bourdonnement des serpentins. Ayant vaincu ce qui est ancien, elle se nourrit de ce qui est mort et en ruine, transformant ce qui est déchu en quelque chose de nouveau. À travers le bruit de fond produit par les anciennes radios rouillées, une trace de notre ancien monde refait surface, mais leur matériel endommagé est irréparable, laissant derrière elles des mystères qui jadis habitaient la terre. Dans ce monde, la technologie a remplacé l’organique pour devenir la nature de cette reconstruction terrestre.

Ontology


Vernissage — Mar 11, 18h — 21h
Mar 6 — Mar 19
Espace Projet
353 rue Villeray

Installation — Sound — Photography — Video

  • Hea Kim
  • Maxime Saint-Jean
  • Marie Ségolène
  • Zoe Baranek
  • Camille Durand Gauthier
  • Danil Ulmashev aka Dany Armaros
  • Aya Avalon, in colloboration with:
  • Ryan Rees
  • Paloma Dawkins
  • Mero Benss

Commissaire: Xan Shian


Ontology propose une destruction collective de l’expérience universelle de l’anxiété. En se basant sur les œuvres de sept artistes utilisant différents médiums, Ontology approfondit, soulève, évoque, provoque, apaise, change et détruit les concepts entourant notre expérience contemporaine et temporelle de l’anxiété. L’anxiété dépasse les frontières nationales et les barrières linguistiques et sociales; elle est à la fois interne et universelle. Ontology propose une expérience sensorielle qui engage le spectateur dans un cadre isolé de l’idéologie sociétaire où l’angoisse, inhérente et naturellement humaine, est explorée de manière empathique.

Things Repeated


Vernissage — Mar 14, 18h — 23h
Mar 12 — Mar 24
Eastern Bloc
7240 rue Clark

Photography — Video — Sculpture — Drawing

  • Eva Young
  • Matthieu Vanier
  • Evan Smith
  • Bronson Smilie
  • François Sarazin
  • Marie-Pier Favreau-Chalifour
  • Natasha K. Molinari
  • Philippe Tremblay

Commissaires: Theo Guillemot, Nabil Azab


Things Repeated est une exploration formelle et conceptuelle de la répétition. De manière littérale, l’exposition explore la nature répétitive du processus créatif à travers la forme répétée. En permettant aux formes d’interagir, nous voulons questionner comment l’addition d’une même image, d’une même forme ou d’un matériel peut altérer notre lecture initiale de l’objet. Les matériels et les formes répétés défient notre perception de la forme originale et le résultat de ces récurrences modifie autant l’œuvre que sa signification.

Ce qu'il en reste (A good ending to the exercise)


Vernissage — Mar 14, 18h — 23h
Mar 14 — Mar 24
Eastern Bloc 7
240 rue Clark

Dance — Performance — Installation

  • tala e.
  • Burcu Emeç
  • Amy Campbell
  • Chandler McMurray-Ives
  • Guillaume Loslier-Pinard
  • Aliah Schwartz
  • Santiago Tamayo Soler
  • Jézabel Plamondon
  • Nien Tzu Weng
  • John Shukin

Commissaire: Roxane Halary


Dans le domaine des arts vivants, la documentation est un passage obligé pour faire exister l’œuvre en dehors de son temps et son espace. L’exposition explore la tension entre la performance, réelle ou inventée, et sa documentation. Toujours incomplète, elle réinvente l’action passée et met en avant son cadre de présentation. Dans certains cas, elle devient même plus importante que l’action. Elle est plus qu’une trace, elle existe, indépendante. Scripts, images, son, installations, reconstitutions, objets oubliés et espaces habités, tangibles ou virtuels : ces archives portent le poids de présences éphémères. Elle restent, prennent vie et racontent une autre histoire.

Risque D’échec


Vernissage — Mar 15, 19h — 21h
Artistes au travail — Mar 18, 13h — 17h
Mar 7 — Mar 20
Galerie Mainline
3905 boul St-Laurent

Sculpture — Installation — Performance

  • Vicky Moe
  • Ariane Patenaude
  • Epithumia Rose
  • Laïla Mestari
  • Max Hart Barnwell
  • Cedric Laurenty
  • Sound of the Mountain
  • Isabella Leone & Lucy Earle
  • Aliah Schwartz
  • (Interpretation: Guillaume Loslier-Pinard)

Commissaires: Samuel Normand, Mathilde Rohr


Bienvenue dans un espace éphémère et modulable. Risque d’échec souligne l’évolution constante du processus des artistes, de leurs recherches et de leurs œuvres. En se métamorphosant au cours des deux semaines d’exposition, le lieu qui vous est proposé questionne la finitude d’une œuvre d’art. Il met en avant l’expérimentation collective et laisse place au facteur d’erreur en encourageant une prise de risque publique. Ce terrain de jeu sollicite ainsi le dépassement de l’artiste vers une frontière instable, ou plus courante, et résultante d’un projet improvisé et social. L’art ici n’est pas seulement l’œuvre, ni l’artiste, mais leur cogitation et les traces de leur présence commune.

TOUT INCLUS


Vernissage — Mar 16, 19h — 21h
Mar 9 — Mar 20
Galerie Espace
4844 boul St. Laurent

Painting — Sculpture — Print Media

  • mil
  • Ben Compton
  • Abbie Rappaport
  • Amélie Lapointe-Lavoie
  • Romane Bladou
  • Constantinos Giannousis
  • Hélène Salamanca

Commissaires: Camille-Zoé Valcourt-Synnott, Louis-Charles Dionne


L’expression « tout inclus » nous transporte, à tous coups, vers ces idées de vacances à rabais, de plages, de bars ouverts, de boutiques de souvenirs, ainsi qu’à ce fort appel du lointain: ce vaste monde aux éternels couchers de soleil. TOUT INCLUS devient évidemment ici une façon d’évoquer le kitsch exotique, mais également l’attitude kitsch omniprésente au sein d’une société post-industrielle. Alors que le terme exotique réfère aux enjeux tels que le tourisme et l’orientalisme, « kitsch » ou « quétaine » n’est pas limité à son sens péjoratif ou à ce qui est considéré comme étant de mauvais goût. Il renvoie aussi à la complexité de ces concepts dissimulés sous un bon nombre d’aspects de la culture populaire et de la consommation, ainsi que derrière chaque motif hawaiienesque.

Islands


Finissage — Mar 20, 19h — 21h
Mar 12 — Mar 21
Espace Cercle Carré
36 rue Queen

Video — Print Media — Sculpture

  • Eve Roy
  • Erin Berry
  • Emilie Buysse
  • Ali Hendra & Eva Young
  • Pépite & Josèphe
  • Emilie Usher
  • Stéphanie Pineau
  • Lenny Sharp
  • Maia Céleste Donnelly
  • Julie-Claude Vezeau-Croteau

Commissaires: Zeke Best Rothfels, Jordan Beaulieu


Les îles sont isolées et intimes. Elles peuvent être des prisons comme des échappatoires. Elles sont intimement liées aux essentiels des voyages, soit les bateaux et les ponts. Elles sont des destinations (rares sont les itinéraires qui font escale sur une île). Elles résistent au changement tout en étant en constante évolution (certaines rapetissent chaque année, graduellement englouties par la mer). Montréal est une île à l’intérieur des terres, une île déguisée. Cette exposition explore l’idée des îles comme espaces physiques et métaphysiques en se penchant sur les expériences d’isolation et d’intimité, de voyage et de transformation, de connections et de détachement, tout cela à travers une médiation artistique

UNTITLED


Finissage — Mar 21, 18h — 21h
Conférence — Mar 13, 17h
Mar 13 — Mar 24
VAV Gallery
1395 René Lévesque W.

Painting — Sculpture — Photography — Performance

  • tala e.
  • Florence Yee
  • Siran Tao
  • Milla Thyme
  • Alejandra Zamudio
  • Andrés I. Estrada
  • Saba Heravi
  • Ray Tonatiuh Vilchis
  • Ahmad Salaj

Commissaire: Soukayna


UNTITLED est une exposition dédiée aux artistes de couleur qui explorent la signification de leur identité. Les exposants abordent non seulement leurs propres doutes et inquiétudes, mais aussi le poids des questions et histoires de leurs ancêtres. UNTITLED considère le dialogue comme faisant partie intégrale de l’exposition pour encourager les spectateurs à réfléchir sur notre société où les opportunités sont limitées pour certains groupes et où la représentation est un privilège. Les personnes de couleur se questionnent chaque jour sur leur bagage, leurs opinions politiques, leurs pensées et sur comment rendre le monde plus inclusif. UNTITLED est un espace où les artistes tentent de répondre à ces questions. La seule chose que nous demandons en retour : votre écoute.

xxxxxxxx*8


Finissage — Mar 23, 19h — 21h
Mar 14 — Mar 25
POPOP
372 rue Sainte-Catherine O #444

  • Tina Lam
  • Cindy Hill
  • Mel Arsenault
  • Nakita McInnis
  • Belote
  • Chris Dake-Outhet
  • Emma Francis Wallace
  • Gabrielle Verrette Paquette
  • Texte par: Terrance Richard

Commissaire: Edwin Isford with RANDOM.ORG


  Quels sont les motifs derrière notre partage de l’espace?
        Le gain personnel fait-il partie de ces motifs?
[??]

-Ne pas diffuser la documentation avant la fin de l’exposition ; cela encourage-t-il les gens à s’y présenter physiquement? (peut-être dans une certaine mesure) Mais à quel prix? Au prix de renforcer une hiérarchie quant à la visualisation de l’exposition? Si l’accessibilité est une préoccupation ici – est c’en est une – devrait-on prendre ce risque?

Nous voulons faire de cet espace ce que vous voulez y voir. Les artistes ont fait des œuvres incroyables pour s’approprier ces murs blancs. Elles sont là pour être partagées;
avec vous.

The View From Here:

Sex, Sexuality and Identity as Experienced by Women and Queer Artists


Mar 27, 18h — 22h (cet événement est sans alcool)
Espace Cercle Carré
36 rue Queen

Performance — Sexuality — Body Empowerment

  • Lucie Swan
  • Florence Yee
  • HEAL PLEASE
  • Gabriel Dorais
  • Sarah Da Silva Marques
  • Santiago Tamayo Soler
  • Holly Timpener
  • Amanda Manson
  • Miles Petrella

Commissaire: Jay Bossé


La sexualité, qu’elle soit présente, absente, ou partie intégrante de l’identité, fait partie de notre quotidien. Quel est le rôle de l’identité dans notre sexualité? Comment intégrons-nous notre personne dans l’acte sexuel? Comment identifions-nous le sexe comme faisant partie de notre personne? Cette exposition réunit des artistes, femmes et queer, qui explorent le rôle de l’identité, de l’épanouissement du corps et du jeu dans la sexualité. Le thème de la sexualité est cependant plus large que ce qui se passe au lit. Quand nous discutons de la sexualité, du sexe et la sensualité, nous devons aussi discuter du corps et des expériences vécues, sur toutes celles des communautés marginalisées. Comme chacun traverse la vie différemment, la sexualité n’est pas vécue de la même manière pour tous. Cette exposition espère explorer la ligne mince qui entre le sexy du sensuel et le politique de l’informatif.

art matters


It's Not Over Yet

Galerie MAI

Risque d’échec

Galerie Mainline

Body Works

Gham & Dafe

TOUT INCLUS

Galerie Espace

Wire Forest

Studio XX

Islands

Espace Cercle Carré

Ontology

Espace Projet

UNTITLED

VAV Gallery

Things Repeated

Eastern Bloc

xxxxxxxx*8

POPOP

Ce qu’il en reste

Eastern Bloc

The View From Here

Espace Cercle Carré

It's Not Over Yet


Mar 4, 22h — 1h
Galerie MAI
3680 Rue Jeanne-Mance

Video — Sculpture — Performance

  • Troy Biliski
  • Jack Zeppetelli
  • Émile Foucher
  • Laila Hamouda
  • Timothy Thomasson
  • Maude Lauziere Dumas
  • Lea Schwarz
  • Ryth Kesselring

Curators: Art Matters Board of Directors


Art Matters’ kickoff event, It’s Not Over Yet, is a nighttime showcase of art in collaboration with Nuit Blanche, exploring the themes of ephemerality, dead space, construction, and deterioration. The event will offer an evening of “attractions,” transforming the MAI gallery in the spirit of Expo ‘67. Beginning with the gallery as a “dead” or “empty” space, its construction through works engaging with technology will speak to the development of the many spaces in Montreal built for Expo ‘67. What does it mean for an artwork to be constructed, and, in turn, to be left behind?

Body Works


Vernissage — Mar 9, 19h — 21h
Mar 4 — Mar 18
Gham & Dafe
3425 Ste-Catherine E

Fibres — Installation — Photography

  • Clare Grehan
  • Rayna M Bellwoar
  • Lydia McCourt
  • Thomas Geist
  • Niharika Russell
  • Nathalie Dubois Calero
  • Dina Georgaros
  • Paul Lofeodo

Curator: Alyse Tunnell


Bodies are the filter through which we experience the world, an inescapable reality indelibly shaping our identity. Body Works considers how contemporary artists use pieces of themselves as material, canvas, and inspiration by showcasing art made from or representing their bodies. Using diverse mediums to consider how we relate to our bodies, the exhibition confronts us with uncomfortable aspects of our physical and physiological selves. Each piece subverts the inclination to deny and silence one’s body by using or representing it in an unexpected way. Body Works reveals the body as a point of resistance, idealization, and vulnerability.

Wire Forest


Vernissage — Mar 10, 19h — 22h
Mar 4 — Mar 18
Studio XX
4001 rue Berri #201

Electroacoustics — Sculpture — Video — Performance

  • Jenna Ladd
  • Alejandro A. Barbosa
  • Amanda Lee
  • Antonin Fisette
  • Beatrice Scharf-Pierzchala
  • Dany Floyd
  • Georgios Varoutsos
  • Philip Gagnon
  • Rihab Essayh

Curators: Valerie Bourdon, Diana Lazzaro


From the ruins of our previous civilization, the wire forest rises, gains roots from metal, creatures from light, and hums from buzzing coils. Conquering over old life, it feeds on what is dead and ruined, assimilating it into the living and new. In the breeze of white noise spread by rusted old radios, glints of our previous world resurface, but their data is corrupted beyond repair, leaving wandering mysteries of what once roamed the earth. In this world, technology has replaced the organic; it has become nature in the process of bringing forth the primordial reconstruction of Earth.

Ontology


Vernissage — Mar 11, 18h — 21h
Mar 6 — Mar 19
Espace Projet
353 rue Villeray

Installation — Sound — Photography — Video

  • Hea Kim
  • Maxime Saint-Jean
  • Marie Ségolène
  • Zoe Baranek
  • Camille Durand Gauthier
  • Danil Ulmashev aka Dany Armaros
  • Aya Avalon, in colloboration with:
  • Ryan Rees
  • Paloma Dawkins
  • Mero Benss

Curator: Xan Shian


Ontology is a collective deconstruction of the universal experience of anxiety. Drawing on works from seven artists across several different mediums, Ontology pushes, pulls, evokes, provokes, soothes, changes and destroys present and temporal concepts of anxiety. Anxiety knows no language, border or social barrier; it is both internal and universal. Ontology posits a sensory experience that engages the viewer on a plane removed from the ideological frameworks of society, and instead empathically appeals to the most innate and relatable of human traits.

Things Repeated


Vernissage — Mar 14, 18h — 23h
Mar 12 — Mar 24
Eastern Bloc
7240 rue Clark

Photography — Video — Sculpture — Drawing

  • Eva Young
  • Matthieu Vanier
  • Evan Smith
  • Bronson Smilie
  • François Sarazin
  • Marie-Pier Favreau-Chalifour
  • Natasha K. Molinari
  • Philippe Tremblay

Curators: Theo Guillemot, Nabil Azab


Things Repeated is a formal and conceptual exploration of repetition. The repetitive nature of the creative process is contemplated through literal manifestations of recurring visual form. By allowing these forms to interact with each other, the effect their repetitious natures have on our perception is brought forth. How does the repetition of the same image, form, or material alter how we originally perceived it? The repeated materials and forms challenge our notion of its original form. The result of these recurrences reinterpret the work and its meaning.

Ce qu'il en reste (A good ending to the exercise)


Vernissage — Mar 14, 18h — 23h
Mar 14 — Mar 24
Eastern Bloc 7
240 rue Clark

Dance — Performance — Installation

  • tala e.
  • Burcu Emeç
  • Amy Campbell
  • Chandler McMurray-Ives
  • Guillaume Loslier-Pinard
  • Aliah Schwartz
  • Santiago Tamayo Soler
  • Jézabel Plamondon
  • Nien Tzu Weng
  • John Shukin

Curator: Roxane Halary


In the domain of ephemeral arts, documentation is necessary in order to allow a work to exist outside of its own time and space. This exhibition explores the tension between performance, real or imaginary, and its documentation. Always incomplete, documentation reinvents past action, bringing its own mode of presentation to the forefront. In some cases, documentation becomes even more important that the action itself. More than just a trace, it exists independently. Scripts, images, sound, installations, reproductions, objects left behind and spaces inhabited, be them tangible or virtual – these archives carry the weight of ephemeral presences. Documentation continues, taking on its own life and telling another story.

Risque D’échec


Vernissage — Mar 15, 19h — 21h
Artists-at-work — Mar 18, 13h — 17h
Mar 7 — Mar 20
Galerie Mainline
3905 boul St-Laurent

Sculpture — Installation — Performance

  • Vicky Moe
  • Ariane Patenaude
  • Epithumia Rose
  • Laïla Mestari
  • Max Hart Barnwell
  • Cedric Laurenty
  • Sound of the Mountain
  • Isabella Leone & Lucy Earle
  • Aliah Schwartz
  • (Interpretation: Guillaume Loslier-Pinard)

Curators: Samuel Normand, Mathilde Rohr


Welcome to an ephemeral, modular space. Risque d’échec underlines the ongoing evolution of the artists’ process, research, and work. By transforming itself in the course a two week exhibition, the space begs the question of an artwork’s completion. The space puts forth a collective experiment, allows mistakes to happen, and encourages risk-taking in public. This playing court asks artists to put their work on the line, no longer in fixed conditions, resulting in a social, improvised project. What is on display here is not just the work nor the artist, rather, it is the artists’ ongoing relationship with their work, and the traces of their communal presence.

TOUT INCLUS


Vernissage — Mar 16, 19h — 21h
Mar 9 — Mar 20
Galerie Espace
4844 boul St. Laurent

Painting — Sculpture — Print Media

  • mil
  • Ben Compton
  • Abbie Rappaport
  • Amélie Lapointe-Lavoie
  • Romane Bladou
  • Constantinos Giannousis
  • Hélène Salamanca

Curators: Camille-Zoé Valcourt-Synnott, Louis-Charles Dionne


When we say, “all-inclusive,” our minds go quickly to cheap travels, beaches, open-bars, gift shops, and that strong call from afar: the vast world of eternal sunsets. Of course, TOUT INCLUS alludes to the “exotic kitsch,” but equally evokes the “kitsch attitude” distinctive of our post-industrialist society. While the exotic can easily be problematized in reference to orientalism or cultural tourism, kitsch is far from reduced to a pejorative synonym for bad taste. Rather, kitsch becomes a multilayered concept dissimulated through numerous aspects of popular and consumer culture, and behind every “Hawaiian” pattern.

Islands


Finissage — Mar 20, 19h — 21h
Mar 12 — Mar 21
Espace Cercle Carré
36 rue Queen

Video — Print Media — Sculpture

  • Eve Roy
  • Erin Berry
  • Emilie Buysse
  • Ali Hendra & Eva Young
  • Pépite & Josèphe
  • Emilie Usher
  • Stéphanie Pineau
  • Lenny Sharp
  • Maia Céleste Donnelly
  • Julie-Claude Vezeau-Croteau

Curators: Zeke Best Rothfels, Jordan Beaulieu


Islands are isolated and intimate. They may be traps or escapes. They are bound with rituals of travel - with boats, bridges. They are destinations (one rarely detours through an island). They are resistant to change yet constantly changing (some shrink each year as they are swallowed by the sea). Montreal is an inland island, an island in disguise. This exhibition explores the idea of islands as physical and metaphorical spaces, examining experiences of isolation and intimacy, travel and transformation, and connection and detachment through artistic meditation.

UNTITLED


Finissage — Mar 21, 18h — 21h
Discussion — Mar 13, 17h
Mar 13 — Mar 24
VAV Gallery
1395 René Lévesque W.

Painting — Sculpture — Photography — Performance

  • tala e.
  • Florence Yee
  • Siran Tao
  • Milla Thyme
  • Alejandra Zamudio
  • Andrés I. Estrada
  • Saba Heravi
  • Ray Tonatiuh Vilchis
  • Ahmad Salaj

Curator: Soukayna


UNTITLED is an exhibition dedicated to featuring artists of colour, in which artists explore the significance of their own identity. The exhibition involves artists who engage not only with their own doubts, but also with the weight of their ancestors’ questions and stories. UNTITLED is a place where discussion is part of the show; it engages the viewer to question their position in a society where opportunities are not equally shared, and where representation is a sign of privilege. People of colour are asked every day about their background, political opinions, thoughts and how to help make the world a more inclusive place. UNTITLED is a space where artists answer those questions. What we ask for in return— is for you to listen.

xxxxxxxx*8


Finissage — Mar 23, 19h — 21h
Mar 14 — Mar 25
POPOP
372 rue Sainte-Catherine O #444

  • Tina Lam
  • Cindy Hill
  • Mel Arsenault
  • Nakita McInnis
  • Belote
  • Chris Dake-Outhet
  • Emma Francis Wallace
  • Gabrielle Verrette Paquette
  • Text by: Terrance Richard

Curators: Edwin Isford with RANDOM.ORG


  What are our motives behind sharing space?
        do they include personal gain?
[??]

-To withhold documentation until after the exhibition ends; does this incentivize being there in person? (perhaps to a degree) but at what cost? To reinforce a hierarchy of viewing? If accessibility is a concern, — and it should be and is — should we even take that risk?

We want you to see this space how you choose to. These artists have done amazing work to make these white walls their own. They’re here to be shared;
with you.

The View From Here:

Sex, Sexuality and Identity as Experienced by Women and Queer Artists


Mar 27, 18h — 22h (this event is sober)
Espace Cercle Carré
36 rue Queen

Performance — Sexuality — Body Empowerment

  • Lucie Swan
  • Florence Yee
  • HEAL PLEASE
  • Gabriel Dorais
  • Sarah Da Silva Marques
  • Santiago Tamayo Soler
  • Holly Timpener
  • Amanda Manson
  • Miles Petrella

Curator: Jay Bossé


Sexuality, whether present, absent or as identity is part of our everyday. What is the role of identity in our sexuality? How do we navigate self in sex? How do we navigate sex as ourselves? This exhibition brings together queer and women artists who explore identity, body empowerment, and play within sexuality. The theme of sexuality, however, is more open than that of who we take to bed. When discussing sexuality, sex, and sensuality, we must include discussions of the body and lived experience, especially from those of marginalized communities. As humans we all navigate life differently; sexuality is no different. This exhibition hopes to walk the line between sexy and sensual, as well as political and informative.